Morrisa “Mo” Benberry

Easy Search

Related Players

Live Breath Basketball

Share This

Morrisa “Mo” Benberry

Name – Morrisa “Mo” Benberry

Where are you from? – Louisville, Kentucky

When did you start playing the game? – Wow, since I was 4 or 5 in the backyard with my uncle.

What made you interested in playing basketball? – I really don’t remember. I think I was born to play the game…that’s all I remember is always playing.

Do you remember your first organized basketball game? – 4th grade, Carter Elementary School

How did you play and how did it make you feel? – Love to practice, hated games. I didn’t want anyone to pass me the ball. I think I was scared. I can remember getting the ball one time and I shot at the other team’s basket, I think I hit it too. In the early part of my career up until college I always played harder against men (who I grew up playing with) then I did when I played in regular games. I’m not sure what that was about…

When did you begin to take basketball seriously and why? – I think I started taking basketball seriously in the 7th grade when I knew I could actually be good at it or I recognized that other people thought I was good. I started on my Middle School team and the coaches paid a lot of attention to me as far as developing me as a player. It was in high school (DuPont Manual High School) when basketball got extremely serious like a full time job with practice everyday and summer camps all summer. I almost quit twice because I was playing my butt off for junior varsity and not even being looked at for varsity. I respected my varsity coach. On the court she was crazy and a spitting image of pat summit (coaching style and all)…she taught me discipline and perseverance. Off the court she was the coolest person you ever want to meet. It was like night & day. Finally, at the end of my junior year I started varsity and we went to the state tournament final four in that year and went to the championship game my senior year…we lost on a last second shot. I will never forget that. I never cried so much in my life. Anyhow, I was a role player and didn’t score much but I was known to be one of the best defensive players in the state…I ended some great high school players’ career on a sour note with my defense.

Does your family support you playing basketball? – Yes, many of them did. My mom was there all the time at almost every game high school and college. My grandma D too (I love her – RIP).

What influenced you to play basketball? – I really don’t know…I honestly think I was born to play.
What is your favorite aspect of playing basketball? – DEFENSE! I love to frustrate my opponent. The look of fear drives me… Offensive is fun but defense is where the games are won!

What is your motivation to play? – My motivations changed over the years. In high school it was to prove myself I guess, since at first I wasn’t getting recognized. In college it was build the women’s program and give them recognition…when I got there (my best friend and I), all the upperclassmen quit except for one because it was “all about the freshmen” as they said and there were no Berea Women’s Basketball banners on the wall…now we have a whole wall to ourselves (conference champions, scoring champions (109 points per game), & national rankings, national tournament appearance (1 year after I left). Right now my motivation is to prove to people that I can get paid to play the game I love.

What are your habits before a game? – none really, basketball is so uncertain…you never know how the game is going to go… I’ve tried a lot of stuff but nothing really helps or prepares me more than usual. I do love to shoot by myself with just my music on.

What is your favorite hobby? – Basketball…it consumes my life LOL!

Do play other sports competitively, which sports? – I ran track for a while…until my schedule with high school basketball got crazy. Bowling – I started bowling in youth leagues when I was 9 years old. Kept doing that until I went to college.

What is your favorite food to eat before and after games? – Pasta the night before…anything and everything afterwards.

What is your favorite pre-game music? – Outkast, Jay-Z

Do you have any religious background and basketball? – No…one-on-one…me and God!

How often do you workout? – Weight Training now…3 days a week

Do you have a partner or on your own? – on my own

Have you gotten seriously injured? – Never, only a really bad ankle sprain once

What are your strong points in basketball? – Defense and the fact that I can shoot the three and get to the basket.

Do you consider yourself healthy and why? – Yes, when I do play or do weights I go all out. I don’t eat healthy but I don’t eat stupid either. I play almost 40 minutes per game right now for both teams I play for without any problems. I have never taken a drink of alcohol or a smoke of anything and I’m 24 years old.


Your favorite basketball gear brand? – NIKE (always) or Jordan

What size shoe do you wear? – Size 11 women’s (that a big shoes for my size LOL) Size 10 Men’s

Favorite Players? – Michael Jordan and Sheryl Swoopes


Do you have many friends who don’t play basketball? – Not really

What is life outside of basketball for you? – All business…academics. I’m setting my life up for life after basketball. I rarely go to clubs. That’s really not my scene.

Do you get a lot of attention because you play basketball? – Yes! I think I’ve stayed very humble though. My family does all the bragging…I have to deal with that when I go home.

What are your plans after your basketball career is over? – Certified Public Accountant, Certified Fraud Examiner, I want to be a Forensic Accountant. I also want to fit time in my schedule to coach basketball. It’s a new passion I have tapped into.

Is basketball your life? – YES

Where has basketball taken you? – Warm places (The Virgin Islands) Cold places (England)

Have you traveled a lot through basketball? If so, where have you been and which are your favorite places? – Not A LOT but more than many people I know: Atlanta (WBCBL), St. Louis, the Virgin Islands, New Orleans, NJ/NYC (coaching at a summer camp), different parts around KY, IN, VA, TN. and England.

Where are you playing now? High school, college, professional, semi pro or retired? England – for a University and a DII National League team.
What are your personal goals as a player? – To play professional for a couple of years just to prove that I can do it.

What are your basketball dreams? – WNBA would be nice but not a necessary dream for me. I will settle for professional basketball anywhere.
Are you happy with your basketball game? – Not totally, I have weaknesses that I wish I had all the time in the world to work on but I don’t. I’m 70 percent happy.
Have you received many accolades and honors through basketball? – Some all tournament teams, 1,000 point club (at BC), a couple 2nd team All Conference. Nothing major…